» The Team

» Contact


Funding Partners

FEWSION™ was founded in 2016 by a grant from the INFEWS program that is sponsored by the National Science Foundation (NSF) and the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA). Funding includes IARPA 2021-21010800001 and other sources. The opinions expressed are those of the researchers, and not necessarily the funding agencies.


NSF/USDA ACI-1639529, INFEWS/T1: Mesoscale Data Fusion to Map and Model the U.S. Food, Energy, and Water (FEW) System

NSF 17-047 Public Participation in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics Research: Capacity-building, Community-building, and Direction-setting

USDA 2017-08812, Evaluating Alternative Water Institution Performance in Snow-Dominated Basin: Are Food Productions Systems at Risk from Changing Snow Water Availability?

NSF ACI-1548562, Extreme Science and Engineering Discovery Environment (XSEDE); specifically, via the "FEWSION Version 2.0 Workflow with XSEDE" allocation.

Social Media


Leadership Team

Northern Arizona University logoBen Ruddell
Northern Arizona University, Director

Northern Arizona University logoRichard Rushforth
Northern Arizona University

Chris Lant
Utah State University

Jacopo Baggio
University of Central Florida

Megan Konar
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Brian Richter

Sustainable Waters

Alfonso Mejia
Penn State University

John Sabo
Arizona State University

Northern Arizona University logoKevin Gurney
Northern Arizona University

Michael Hanemann
Arizona State University

Shade Shutters
Global Security Initiative / Arizona State University

Jon Miller
Decision Theater / Arizona State University

Joe Fargione
The Nature Conservancy

Tara Troy
University of Victoria

Kristen Averyt
Desert Research Institute

Landon Marston
Virginia Tech

Advisory Board

Molly Maupin

Ryan McManamay

Vince Tidwell

Upmanu Lall

Robin Newmark

Stanley Mubako


Jordan Macknick

Paul Ruess

Alex Cornell du Houx

Xiaowen Lin

Stanley Rhodes

Mindy Bell

Okan Pala

Robert George

Mazdak Arabi

Stuart Cohen

Ikechukwu Ahams

Joelle Clark

Ross Maciejewski

Kevin Dooley

Max Das

Carey King

Nicholas Zegre

Neil Pennanen

Britta Culbertson

Scott Worland

Suman Paudel

Maggie Messerschmidt

Gregory Moon

Susana Garcia

Anne Reichman

Rachata Muneepeerakul

Ramesh Gorantla

Luis Rodriguez

Ariel Miara

Rahul Salla

Greg Characklis

Debbie Huntzinger

Denielle Perry

Sean Ryan

Qinqin Lie

Eric Evenson

Jamie Vernon

Emily Evans

Peter DeBaere

Gabriel Santos

Peter Friederici

Kyle Davis

Emma Hibbett

Elisabeth Roberts

Dana Stright

Suhas Murthy 

Mesfin Mekonnen

Kristin Larson

Taha Moiz

Dimitrios Stampoulis

Michael Burt

Victor O. Leshyk

Peter Caldwell

Erzhena Soktoeva

Anona Miller

Team Member Resources


Google GroupGoogle Drive

Core Data Working Group

Google GroupGoogle Drive

Network Science Working Group

Google GroupGoogle Drive

Leadership Team

Google GroupGoogle Drive

E&O + K-12

Google GroupGoogle Drive


Google GroupGoogle Drive

Social Science

Google GroupGoogle Drive

Environment and Climate

Google GroupGoogle Drive